Plain Sailing

Congratulations Ian Walker!

The Volvo Ocean Race winner took home another trophy yesterday - the YJA Yachtsman of the Year!

Article Image

To cap off what was an extraordinary year for Ian Walker, the Yacht Journalists Association awarded him their prestigious 'Yachtsman of the Year' Award, sponsored by 

It was just the icing on the cake for the Hampshire sailor, who became one of the most famous sailors in the world when he led his Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing team to victory in the 2014/15 event.  Not only were they the fastest team, but they also won the in-port race series, and when they were at their best, with the crew working in perfect unision, they managed to break the World Record for distance covered in a 24 hour period - clocking up an incredible 550.82 nautical miles!?

Walker is a humble charachter, and in accepting the award he dedicated it to his team-mates, 'without whom I wouldn't be here, or even be able to get a Volvo 69 off the dock!'

Congratulations Ian!  A worthy winner! Tweet your congratulations to @adorskipper